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DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION AND DEVELOPMENT 
GUIDELINES FOR STUDENT EMPLOYMENT 

 
 

The following guidelines are applicable to all students working at the Louisiana Department of Transportation and 
Development. 

 
 

Certification Requirements 

 All students employed with the Department must be registered full-time at their university, community 
college, technical college, etc. 

 Students employed to work in their major field of study must be classified as a junior or a senior. 
 Engineering students must have a GPA of 2.5 or higher. 
 Non-engineering students must be in Good Standing with their school. 
 Student Applications must be certified by the school Registrar or the appropriate delegated school official. 
 Official Transcripts must be mailed or E-scripts submitted to Human Resources directly from the school. 
 Students must promptly notify their Supervisor or the Human Resources Recruiter of any change in their 

status as a student, including any reduction in courses taken, termination of student status, or scholastic 
probation. 

 

Recertification Requirements 

 Students must present a new and current Student Application (SF-10D) at the beginning of each new 
semester. 

 Failure to submit the new and current Student Application within two (2) weeks of the Semester starting 
will result in termination of the appointment. 

 

Offer of Employment 

 Students serve in unclassified appointments. 
 Offers of employment are conditional and contingent on successfully meeting all pre-hire requirements. 
 Appointments are subject to verification by Human Resources. 
 Students are required to attend New Employee Orientation. 

 
Work Hours 

 Students may work up to twenty (20) hours per week during the fall and spring semesters. 
 Students may work up to forty (40) per week during the summer semester, Summer Engineering Program, 

and official school breaks such as Thanksgiving, Christmas, and spring breaks. 
 Timesheets must record actual hours worked and must be submitted to your supervisor weekly. Failure to 

do so could result in delayed payment. 
 Timesheets must be submitted to your time administrator bi-weekly. 
 Timesheets can be found on the DOTD Intranet under Human Resources, Forms and Job Aids. 
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Operating a State Vehicle (as applicable) 

 All students who need to operate a state vehicle while doing business for the department must have a 
valid Louisiana driver's license and verification of completion of a driver's education or defensive driving 
course. If necessary, students should be scheduled to take and complete DOTD's defensive driving course. 

 

Pay Rates 

 Student employees are paid on an hourly basis for hours actually worked, which does not include time 
provided for lunch breaks. 

 Pay rates are based on a combination of educational level, applicable field of study and whether the major 
field of study is within the assigned DOTD functional area. 

 Students are not permitted to work overtime. 
 Students are paid on a bi-weekly basis. 
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Law students classified as 1L – 0-30 credit hours $14.45/hr. 
Law students classified as 2L – 31-60 credit hours $15.45/hr. 
Law students classified as 3L – 61 or more credit hours $16.45/hr. 

 

Note: Student worker pay based on student classification and major field of study  


